top of box
bottom of box

Andrew Lenz's bagpipe journeyAndrew
seasoning hands playing drones bags and stocks people
reference articles competition journal piping links FAQ contact me

Andrew's Tips: Silver Chanter Winners

By Andrew T. Lenz, Jr., Santa Cruz, California, ©2007-2010

The following is a list of winners of The Silver Chanter, an invitational event held at Dunvegan Castle on the Isle of Skye. Held each summer on the evening of day of the Skye Games, this event, The Annual MacCrimmon Memorial Piobaireachd Competition, was instituted in 1967 by Dame Flora MacLeod, John MacFadyen, and Seumas MacNeill. Competitors only play tunes attributed to the legendary MacCrimmon family. The MacCrimmons were the hereditary pipers to the MacLeods of Dunvegan. The trophy is a silver chanter, symbolic of a magical silver chanter which according to legend was given to a MacCrimmon by a fairy and led to many piping prizes.

The Silver Chanter
The Annual MacCrimmon Memorial Piobaireachd Competition

1967 Hector MacFadyen
1968 John MacDougall
1969 John MacFadyen
1970 Hugh MacCallum, Stirling
1971 Hugh MacCallum, Stirling - 2nd Win
1972 Iain MacFadyen, Kyle
1973 PM Donald Morrison
1974 Hugh MacCallum, Stirling - 3rd Win
1975 James MacGregor
1976 Hugh MacCallum, Stirling - 4th Win
1977 Murray Henderson, Eassie
1978 Iain MacFadyen, Kyle - 2nd Win
1979 Duncan MacFadyen
1980 John MacDougall - 2nd Win
1981 PM Iain Morrison
1982 Iain MacFadyen, Kyle - 3rd Win
1983 Hugh MacCallum, Stirling - 5th Win
1984 Dr. Jack Taylor
1985 Iain MacFadyen - 4th Win
1986 Hugh MacCallum, Stirling - 6th Win
1987 Murray Henderson, Easie - 2nd Win
1988 Murray Henderson, Easie - 3rd Win
1989 Roderick J. MacLeod, Cumbernauld
1990 Colin MacLellan
1991 Colin MacLellan - 2nd Win
1992 Murray Henderson - 4th Win
1993 Murray Henderson - 5th Win
1994 William MacCallum, Bearsden
1995 William MacCallum, Bearsden - 2nd Win
1996 William MacCallum, Bearsden - 3rd Win
1997 Dr. Angus MacDonald, Braes
1998 Roderick J. MacLeod, Cumbernauld - 2nd Win
1999 Roderick J. MacLeod, Cumbernauld - 3rd Win
2000 Greg Wilson, New Zealand - Lament for Donald Duaghal MacKay
2001 Greg Wilson, New Zealand - 2nd Win - Lament for MacSwan of Roaig (Judge: Donald MacPherson)
2002 Greg Wilson, New Zealand - 3rd Win - Lament for MacSwan of Roaig (Judge: Iain Morrison)
2003 Iain Speirs, Edinburgh - I Gave a Kiss to the King’s Hand
2004 Iain Speirs, Edinburgh - 2nd Win - The Lament for Patrick Og MacCrimmon (Judge: Gavin Stoddart)
2005 Iain Speirs, Edinburgh - 3rd Win - King's Taxes (Judge: John Wilson)
2006 Euan MacCrimmon, Inverness - 2nd Win - Lament for the Earl of Antrim (Judge: Hugh MacCallum)
2007 Roderick J. MacLeod, Cumbernauld - 4th Win - The Earl of Ross's March (Judge: Andrew Wright)
2008 Roderick J. MacLeod, Cumbernauld - 5th Win - Lament for Donald Duaghal MacKay (Judge: unknown)
2009 - Roderick J. MacLeod, Cumbernauld - 6th Win - Rory MacLeod’s Lament (Judge: Malcolm MacRae)
2010 Gordon Walker of Galston, Scotland - Lament for the Children (Judge: John Wilson)

If you have comments or suggestions about this page, please contact me.

This page last updated Sunday, November 7, 2010.
Page first created in August 6, 2007.

top of box
Kinnaird Bagpipes & Reeds - Play what the pros are playing

bottom of box